top of page

Story of an Orchid

We have a beautiful white Orchid plant at home.

Its been two years since it entered our home. This only blooms once a year with just 6-7 flowers when it does.


2021 is its 3rd year to blossom and in January the buds started showing up. I got a little creative this time and tried to twist its stem around a long stick so that it looks more beautiful. A similar aesthetic they bring up in the plant shops.

Then happened the disaster! I broke the stem (spike is what the plant experts call it)! I was disheartened and sad. I tried to put a bandage hoping it would get attached to its mother stem. But it didn't. I was in a distress for a couple of days whenever I saw the plant with the broken stem. I felt it wouldn't be able to give any flowers this year.

But, after few days, I noticed something amazing!



Just below the broken spike, two new spikes started growing from the nodes. Can you imagine? two new stems in place of one broken stem! Slowly several buds started forming on each of these spikes.

I was wowed by Orchid plant's mechanism. Later on while researching further on Orchids' care, I came to know that cutting the stems is actually a part of this plant's care to get more lateral stems and more flowers. I knew nothing about it until recently.

I was elated to the sky and felt over the moon after seeing double the original number of buds!


Orchid plant definitely has one of the greatest lessons of life!


"When a situation lets you down, don't surrender. Take your time, retrospect, work on your strengths and and bounce back with extra energy."


What a great way to realize this in my day-to-day observations!



50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Stories By Sushma.PNG
bottom of page