top of page
  • Writer's pictureSushma Gurram

Emotional vs Mindful Decisions

Can you identify what's the ingredient used in below recipe? Is is egg or tofu?


You have the complete right to get confused as the


The title of the post doesn't match with the above picture. I got to time travel to explain better.


In Sept 2015, I quit consuming meat when I saw a disturbing video of how the animals are treated in the slaughterhouses and their brutal journey before they finally reach our plate. After watching that, I felt disheartened and left the meat for more than 3 years. This was the biggest emotional change of thoughts that had ever happened to me. In Jan 2019, I started consuming meat again, falling prey to the misguided thought that I could put on some weight before marriage. I have been skinnier than required (at least that's what I thought all those days), ever since I gained my senses. The undeniable fact is that it runs in my genes, so I actually tried to fight my biology! I want to write a new post on my thoughts about why people feel the way they do about their bodies sometime later.


I continued taking meat with the same attitude until I discovered a hard reality from the Satvic movement (An organization that believes in and tries to promote veganism/consumption of plant-based food over animal-based food) in September 2019. This time it was a mindful consciousness that provoked my thoughts.


It's been over 8 months since I quit meat the second time, and I'm still struggling to quit consuming eggs. I have never felt bad for any of my dietary decisions till date, and I never felt vulnerable in terms of health because of my changes. There are a lot of vegetarian options if you want to really try them out. Some of the best things I wish I had adopted earlier are Soyfoods (soy milk, tofu, soybean curry), right amounts of all dry nuts (pumpkin seeds, Hemp seeds, Sesame seeds, Almonds, Cashews)


Going back to the quiz question at the beginning of this post, it is tofu. I have been trying to replace egg with tofu whenever I can while not compromising my taste buds.


I'm still trying to save myself from the pity looks of people who think I've become miserable due to my new habit changes. As anything like this takes time to reach people, this too shall be conveyed at some time later, if not sooner.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Stories By Sushma.PNG
bottom of page