top of page
  • Writer's pictureSushma Gurram

The Captain And The (kind of) Scary Night

This can be considered as an episode after my Florida Flat Tire.


When I got stuck on the roadside with the burst tire, my immediate tension was would I be able to catch my flight to Houston. If everything went smooth, I wouldn't have a story. But, life is never smooth to troublemakers. I eventually missed the flight (at least I thought so at the moment). I reached the customer service at the airport hoping there might be some delay in the take-off or some kind of luck.


Guess what? I got an email saying my flight was delayed by 20min which meant I exactly had 2 minutes to board the flight. I became the superwoman that I always wanted to be and I got the imaginative skates on my legs (Though I don't know how to skate!) and hurried to the allotted gate.



To my distress, it was a mishandled email update and the flight was never delayed. I got the same flight delayed email nearly 20 times in the next 30 minutes. As someone with an IT background, I cursed the developer behind the faulty email notifications for arising useless hopes in me. I immediately checked for next available flight and I can easily buy an entire Hawaiian island with those overly hiked last moment prices.


My phone was equally tired and yearned for the charge. I sat in a corner while charging my phone and started thinking where should I spend my night. I had a friend's friend in Tampa but my crazy brain chose the unconventional way.


I booked an Airbnb accommodation nearby the airport. Its the house of an ex-army captain. It even asked me to upload my Identification. I took an Uber and reached his place. I didn't know if he was living alone or there was no one at home just on that day. I went into my room that he showed me and to my shock, the door doesn't have a lock. I had to spend the rest of the night in an unlocked room with a stranger next-door.


Even though it was scary, after the tiring day I had, I really wanted to push every fear aside and get some good sleep. It was just another 'take it lite' moment and I just left everything to Karma and fell asleep.


World isn't bad after all. Nothing as I worried before happened and I got up early in the morning and left a note to the host and started to airport. I boarded my flight and reached Houston.


Not everything goes wrong all the time. There is a silver lining ending sometimes. Optimistic philosophy 😀

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Stories By Sushma.PNG
bottom of page